hindu new year

1-nav vikram 1

Hindu years are called Vikram samvat, This Vikram Era was started in 57 BC, by Emperor Vikramaditya,as a commemoration of his victory upon the Shakas.present  Hindu New Year starts from April 8. 2073 Vikram Nav Varsh Samvat. It is the traditional lunar Hindu calendars followed in North India – especially in Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Delhi and Chhattisgarh.hindu new year is celebrated on Chaitra Shukla  Pratipada .It starts after 15 days of Holi festival.The New Year is first day of Chaitra month.After amavasya (No moon) ,the first moon day ,which is called prathama or pratipada,New year is celebrated .The current year is known as Soumya Samvatsar.

Gudi Padva and Ugadi are the other names of the new year.Ugadi is  New Year of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.Gudi Padva is new year Of Maharashtra .


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s